Nuuk cemeteries

As far as I could see there is three cemeteries in Nuuk. They all share a common feature with the wooden white crosses. The graves are all placed in a quite strict grid which at first glance gives them a very uniform appearence. Then I noticed was the small crosses in between the larger ones which are childrens graves. At a closer look the graves are decorated with artifical flowers and toys and other small objects. In one of the cemeteries it is easy to see wich graves are the newer ones since the artifical flowers fades in the sun and leaves the older graves more colourless than the newer ones which are really poppin’ with colour. I think the crosses reflects the equality we all share in death. The temporary wood will go away faster than stone, and to me this suits the nature of death in a good way.

Click the image underneath for my facebook album.

About visualgreenland
An art school in Iceland

Leave a comment